General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Road bike VS Tri bike for ironman Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-07-16 2:30 PM

User image

New user
Kingston, Ontario
Subject: Road bike VS Tri bike for ironman
Going to take the plunge and try an ironman ... Not sure what to use.. road bike or triathlon bike.. people have been saying ill be way to sore to use a triathlon bike for 180KM however i see people on TV do it all the time.. Only thing is im no pro so maybe a road bike is the way to do it.. i already have a good triathlon bike and dont really want ot make another investment on a road bike. What do you guys use?

2014-07-16 2:38 PM
in reply to: katan2212

User image

Subject: RE: Road bike VS Tri bike for ironman

If you already have a triathlon bike that fits you, then use that.  There is no reason to get sore on a triathlon bike over the IM distance if your fit is good.  Sometimes you may want to tweak the fit just slightly for longer distances, but not much.

2014-07-16 2:47 PM
in reply to: Jason N

User image

New user
Kingston, Ontario
she's fitted... cost me a little bit to get it done but i did. i feel pretty comfortable on it.. havnt done no 180km on it in a sitting but i figured it would be ok. Thanks for the response
2014-07-16 3:16 PM

Arden, North Carolina
When you say "people" have told you you'll be too sore, who are these people? I've routinely been doing 90+ mile rides on my tri bike very comfortably. At IMAZ a few years ago 95% of the people were on tri bikes, that's what they're for, triathlons.
I couldn't imagine buying a road bike, if you already have a tri bike, to do a triathlon.
It may be a bit uncomfortable at first, but you get used to the extended time in aero after enough rides. And your legs will thank you when you start running. I've been running so much faster since I got my tri bike
2014-07-16 3:34 PM
in reply to: TriDadinAsheville

User image

Deep in the Heart of Texas