General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Removing Stubborn Bike Pedals Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-07-25 11:36 PM

Subject: Removing Stubborn Bike Pedals
You Guys,

I'm new to bikes. Currently I'm trying to replace my stock toe cages with clip-less pedals. However, I can't get the damn toe cages off. I've done it all. Hell I've gone so far as to stand on the wrench to try and get it to budge. I really don't want to take it to a bike shop because they'll charge me more than I want to pay. (There's also this thing called pride...) Does anyone have advice or some unusual tactics to outsmarting these toe cages?

2014-07-31 12:15 AM
in reply to: broneils_

User image

Subject: RE: Removing Stubborn Bike Pedals
get a piece of pvc pipe, about a foot or so long, and with enough room to put your allen wrench or pedal wrench, whichever you are using, into the end. This will give you considerably more leverage. Also, you can always try something like PB Blaster, but be careful because some of those substances can harm the different types of metal used.
2014-07-31 11:13 AM
in reply to: n8dawgbu

The PVC pipe worked like magic. Thanks for the help!
2014-08-06 11:03 PM
in reply to: broneils_

User image

great! glad it worked
New Thread
General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Removing Stubborn Bike Pedals Rss Feed  
RELATED POSTS

professional bike fitter in Okc area

Started by EKH
Views: 2648 Posts: 7

2011-06-12 9:48 AM phoenixazul

Redman bike course - roads

Started by lisac957
Views: 1567 Posts: 2

2009-07-18 8:05 PM ballyard7

Durant Magnolia Bike Ride

Started by ashort33
Views: 2266 Posts: 3

2009-05-28 6:53 AM ashort33

Bike Fitting OKC

Started by enriquie
Views: 2795 Posts: 5

2009-08-13 1:07 PM OkiePrill

Bike rides in Tulsa

Started by TexOma
Views: 1182 Posts: 2

2007-06-25 12:30 PM ballyard7
RELATED ARTICLES
date : February 16, 2011
author : FitWerx
comments : 2