Vineman
95F / 35C
Sunny
Total Time = 7h 28m 17s
Overall Rank = 129/317
Age Group = 30-34
Age Group Rank = 24/39
Pre-race routine:

Woke up around 5:45am and was able to get myself all packed up and down for breakfast by about 6:30 - had english muffin with peanut butter, banana, and about 8 oz. of tea before heading out to the race. My hotel was a 30 minute or so drive from the parking for the race so I was able to get there with about an hour until the swim start. Morning felt perfect.
Event warmup:

Just did a little bit of stretching and spent a few minutes getting acclimated to the water. The water was super warm, so that was easy!
Swim
  • 46m 56s
  • 2112 yards
  • 02m 13s / 100 yards
Comments:

My time was about what I expected. They said that the current usually adds a minute or two onto your time.
What would you do differently?:

I am not good at swimming in groups, I kept getting kicked in the face and crashing into people. I need to get better at this, because I certainly could have swam faster if I weren't spending so much time trying to navigate around people!
Transition 1
  • 05m 4s
Comments:

I did well getting dried off and into my shoes, but I also wanted to eat a little bit of solid food here, so I took my time eating a pretzel roll as I walked my bike up the hill to start and I think this was helpful for me. It only added on about a minute, but it was a nice treat for me.

Nothing, I enjoyed taking my time a bit here and getting some solid food in me.
Bike
  • 3h 40m 36s
  • 56 miles
  • 15.23 mile/hr
Comments:

I felt great about my bike pacing and nutrition. It's a beautiful hilly course and I enjoyed the whole ride!