General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » Newbie looking for Duathlon training & nutrition advice Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-08-20 9:01 AM

Subject: Newbie looking for Duathlon training & nutrition advice
Hi Everyone, I'm Scott.

I'm 27 (Ugh, almost 28) from Bury (Near Manchester) in England.

So for starters I'm a beginner on both the mountain bike and a returning runner (I've run for my University track team about 7 years ago now, and that was the last I did)

I'm 5'10, hovering around 160lbs, and I work full time in a care home (so yeah, 12 hours a day 4 days a week on my feet) and I cycle to and from work each day totalling 7.2 miles round-trip, taking me just over 40 minutes to complete at the moment on my MTB.

I just ran my first 5km training session and finished in just shy of 29 minutes.

What I'm looking for here initially is a very basic (although as specific as possible!) training regime and nutrition guide to help me get from average-Joe to competent Duathlete.

Anyone who can point me in the right direction or better still give me some example training & nutritional guides that fit my lifestyle at the moment I will be very grateful to.

-sc00t

2014-08-21 11:20 AM
in reply to: scottdavies86

User image

Champion
Subject: RE: Newbie looking for Duathlon training & nutrition advice

Welcome!  Do you pack your lunch(es)?  If not, I would say that is the first step to healthily fuel - plus it will save a lot of money.  The other thing is to make sure you DON'T do as your training ramps up is to 'diet'.  Make sure you eat when you are hungry.

Here are a few articles that may help:

Fueling on a Budget
The 2014 Guide to Healthy Snacking
Dieting - Not Allowed
Recovering from Hard Exercise: How to Refuel
Supermarket Shopping: Decisions and Dilemmas
Maintaining Weight While Triathlon Training
2014-09-03 4:29 AM