General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Help with bike handling Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-08-27 1:52 AM

Subject: Help with bike handling
Hi everyone! I'm a newbie training for my first tri, and while I enjoy riding, I'm never comfortable with taking my hand off the handlebar. The best that I can manage is to take one hand off while freewheeling, but when I try to pedal with one hand off, the bike weaves in the direction where I'm pedaling. It's definitely not an ideal (nor safe) situation, and it means that I have to stop to drink.

I'd be grateful if anyone has any good suggestions to help me manage my problem.

Cheers!

2014-08-27 3:34 AM
in reply to: alan_lee

User image

Master
Kailua, Hawaii
Subject: RE: Help with bike handling
sounds like you have too much weight distributed to your hands.

This can be due to a fit issue, but iregardless, try reducing the weight on your hands and shift it more to your seat.

Practice riding for awhile with the lighter feel on the bars, and without shifting your weight, try taking one hand off.

if you feel uncomfortable on the bike, might be a good idea to check the fit, might be contributing to your problem.
2014-08-27 4:12 AM

User image

Champion
Knoxville area
as above, a proper fit (weight distribution) can do a lot for stability, beyond that...
don't death grip the bars... nice and relaxed.
try moving your weight back on the saddle.
practice.
2014-08-27 4:36 AM

, Alabama