General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Form Break/Exhaustion in first Open Water Tri Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-09-03 8:50 AM

User image

Subject: Form Break/Exhaustion in first Open Water Tri
This is my first year doing triathlons. I had, prior to last weekend, three sprints and a splash and dash all in 50 m pools under my belt. Austin TriRock 2014 was my first open water swim. I live in the desert and there is no open water anywhere close but I thought i would be dialed in. I swim 1500m at the gym anytime and always at the same pace, consistently. TriRock was only 700m. By 100 m I knew I was breathing too hard, by 300m I grabbed my first kayak. I know this was a combination of too little OW experience, sighting too much, crowding, too fast a pace, form breakdown, debris in lake and anxiety. I tried slowing, changing stroke, etc but it was so difficult and such a struggle both physically (breathing) and mentally. I was really disappointed.
So, I know I need to change up my training with some drills. I can drive to a lake that is about 1.5 hours away but I need some drills for the pools. I have a few ideas but I was wondering if other people had the same experience and what they did to overcome it?
I appreciate any advice

2014-09-03 9:24 AM
in reply to: dloehrs

User image

New user
madison, Wisconsin
Subject: RE: Form Break/Exhaustion in first Open Water Tri
Open water will always be different. Going in knowing that will help a bit. Couple that with the fact that you pulse is elevated from race day excitement, nervous from a possible kick in face, having a wetsuit on (compressing your chest), etc and things are VERY different.
One of the very best things I've found is to get my face wet prior to swimming. It takes the initial shock out of diving into cold/cool water.
But all the drills in the world won't really do much to prepare you for open water. You really just need to do it for real.
2014-09-03 9:35 AM
in reply to: pwoolson