General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Overtrained with 6 Days Until HIM Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-09-22 8:09 AM

User image

New user
KY
Subject: Overtrained with 6 Days Until HIM
I'm doing Augusta this coming Sunday and for the past 10 days or so I have been dealing with all the classic symptoms of overtraining. I'm exhausted but can't fall asleep at night (sometimes I'll lay there with my mind racing until the alarm goes off,) my resting heart rate is up from 49-51 in June to 70-73 currently and I can't hold my paces in my workouts.

I started training with a coach in July, and the volume and intensity increased compared to what I'm used to (about 14 hours week with heavy intervals vs 9-10 hours in the past with plenty of easy mileage.) Anyway, long story short is that I have always given myself a generous 2-3 week taper with plenty of rest days going into my HIM's. This time, I haven't had that. I do have workouts on the schedule every day up until race day.

I gave myself a couple extra rest days in the past week but still feeling pretty run down. My question is, should I continue the workouts as planned or should I back off? Lay off the run and bike and just do some easy swimming? I've asked my coach but I think he's pretty busy so thought I'd ask you guys. Thanks for any advice.

2014-09-22 8:16 AM
in reply to: erinrockrun

User image

New user
Austin, Texas
Subject: RE: Overtrained with 6 Days Until HIM