General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Training plans Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-10-20 8:18 AM

Subject: Training plans
I set up my training plan and I have a question. Today I am to swim and walk, are these 2 disciplines to be done at the same time, or, can I swim in the morning and walk in the afternoon. Because I am a beginner and for the first few weeks, the time/distance is relatively low , it should not be a problem. I am more concerned about the later weeks in the program. I am guessing, training like a race is the better way to go.

2014-10-20 8:39 AM
in reply to: STony G

User image

Master
Eugene, Oregon
Bronze member
Subject: RE: Training plans
At this point since you are working on basic endurance and technique, it doesn't really matter. Whatever helps you to get in the workouts consistently and works best with your body and lifestyle is good. Later, if you're doing longer/harder workouts, you may want to experiment with the timing of the workouts--some combos are best avoided (like a hard swim right after a hard run, for example, which makes many people cramp), while you may want to include some runs immediately after the bike to get used to the feeling of running after the bike as your race approaches.

If I have two workouts, I generally prefer to do one in the morning (before work, usually) and one in the afternoon (after work). This is both for logistical reasons (I'd be getting up at 3:XX to do a double before work, no pool access AM anyway) and because the second workout goes better if I'm not tired from the first. The exception would be some bike/run bricks where the goal is getting used to the feel of running after the bike or working on pacing.
2014-10-20 8:50 AM
in reply to: Hot Runner

, Wisconsin
Subject: RE: Training plans
Originally posted by Hot Runner