General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Dallas Tri Clubs / General Questions Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-12-04 2:23 PM

User image

Subject: Dallas Tri Clubs / General Questions
I'm new to the sport and after doing my 1st race last year, I can't wait to do my next one. Somehow I qualified for the Age Group Nationals which I plan on going to. I have a couple questions I'm hoping to get some feedback on:

1. Renting vs Buying a wetsuit. I've never owned or swam in one but looking ahead I'm thinking it's something I'm probably going to need. I only swim in a pool for training and didn't need one for the race I did a few months ago but based on the pictures I've seen online for the Nationals it seems like everyone has one.

2. I've never trained with anyone before but given I want to improve on how I did last time I've realized I could use some help (especially swimming!). Is joining a tri club/group worth it? Also, if anyone knows anything about the ones in Dallas I'd appreciate your thoughts. Based on web research it's hard to differentiate (Tri-Now, DFW Tri, Fit2Train, etc).

3. I'm planning on buying some Aero bars for my road bike in the next few weeks but have been reading a lot about wheels and helmet too. Has anyone not at a professional level really noticed a difference from these components?

Thank you!

2014-12-04 2:44 PM
in reply to: TXTriRook

User image

Master
Sunbury, Pennsylvania
Subject: RE: Dallas Tri Clubs / General Questions
I am sure those are fine clubs, but someone needs to start one or rename one with.....

wait for it.......

Dallas Tri-ers Club
2014-12-05 6:17 AM
in reply to: TXTriRook

User image

In response to your tri clubs question, I'm a total noob and belong to Tri Now. Also, looked at and have a friend who is a member with DFW Tri.