General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Popcorn and a tri... Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-12-16 7:29 AM

User image

Kings Mountain, North Carolina
Subject: Popcorn and a tri...
I'm new.

So I'm just getting into this triathlon thing (is that the BT equivalent to "it was a dark, stormy night"?) and I am pretty excited. I've got the gear. I think I've got the motivation. But I've never done anything like this and I have to admit the spectacle of it all is a bit intimidating. I'm thinking (hoping) that maybe I'll be able to enter the Over the Mountain in Kings Mountain (where I live) in late May as perhaps my first triathlon.

But I'd sort of like to go visit some triathlon events in the area (North or South Carolina) and play spectator and watch what happens at the start and the transitions. Yeah, I'll read up on all that, but I'd really like to see what it is like (I hope it doesn't scare me). Any suggestions on early season events that would be fun to visit and take my wife and kid to?

Thanks and hope to be posting here regularly...

BeachAV8R

Edited by BeachAV8R 2014-12-16 7:29 AM

2014-12-16 8:14 AM
in reply to: BeachAV8R

User image

, North Carolina
Subject: RE: Popcorn and a tri...
I would choose something close unless you really want to make it a vacation.

White Lake, NC might be a good place to start.

But, I completely understand where you are coming from with the start of a triathlon. I didn't know anything about how they started and that concerned me quite a bit. I'll give you a brief run down about how the races that I have been in have started. All of mine have been set-up events.

Each racer is placed into a category
Open (M & F)
Masters Open (M & F)
Age Groups (M & F):15 & Under,16-19,20-24,25-29,30-34,35-39,40-44,45-49,50-54,55-59,60-64,65-69, 70-74,75-79,80-84, 85+
Clydesdales (Males - 220 Lbs +)
Masters Clydesdales (Males - 220 Lbs +, 40 & Over)
Athenas (Females - 165 Lbs +)
Novice (M & F)
Masters Novice (M & F)