General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Base Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-12-21 10:35 PM

User image

New user
Subject: Base
I would like to build a good base for my bike and run for olympic distance. how many hours a week do i need for each discipline?

2014-12-21 10:50 PM
in reply to: spoon

User image

Richland, Washington
Subject: RE: Base
Not gonna lie....

It's all about that base....
'bout that base, no taper
I'm all 'bout that base, 'bout that base, no taper
'm all 'bout that base, 'bout that base

Yeah, sorry for that.... I kinda had to. Back on topic.. It would help to have more of a history of your past training. I can tell you that during my base period I'm around 2-3 hours a day. Some days more, some days less. It's all relative.

So, what's your history?

Don't make me sing the rest of that song!!
2014-12-21 11:08 PM
in reply to: Swimaway

User image

New user
I was out for almost 2years due to injury. I started Riding august and ride 3x a week 60 to 100 miles a week. my run i am doing run walk 4x a week.
2014-12-22 8:34 AM

User image

Extreme Veteran
"It's all about that base, bout that base, no speedwork".
2014-12-22 9:02 AM

User image

Champion
Sarasota, FL

Originally posted by spoon I was out for almost 2years due to injury. I started Riding august and ride 3x a week 60 to 100 miles a week. my run i am doing run walk 4x a week.

I've used the run-focused Oly plan here on BT a couple of times. I also run 4 x week.  My riding is limited to the weekends and ride two days a week.  The plan builds up to about 60 miles per week on the bike and 20 on the run.  I'm 61 and need more recovery time these days, so I do a two week build/ one week recovery periodization schedule.