General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Does this bike trainer exist? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2015-01-07 6:58 PM

User image

Calgary, Alberta
Subject: Does this bike trainer exist?
hey guys. I'm pretty new to the world of indoor cycling. Two questions:

1) Does a bike trainer exist that integrates with software to look at Google maps and simulate user defined bike courses (elevation and distance)?

2) Does a bike trainer exist that enables you to virtually connect to friends online and do a group ride indoors? Preferably with a video game like avatar and road on a tv screen to simulate a group ride.

Not looking for something that necessarily has both features (although it would be nice) just one or the other.

2015-01-08 7:42 AM
in reply to: westernmustang86

User image

Expert
Albuquerque, NM
Subject: RE: Does this bike trainer exist?
Originally posted by westernmustang86

hey guys. I'm pretty new to the world of indoor cycling. Two questions:

1) Does a bike trainer exist that integrates with software to look at Google maps and simulate user defined bike courses (elevation and distance)?

2) Does a bike trainer exist that enables you to virtually connect to friends online and do a group ride indoors? Preferably with a video game like avatar and road on a tv screen to simulate a group ride.

Not looking for something that necessarily has both features (although it would be nice) just one or the other.

I think TACX makes a trainer that does both...
2015-01-08 12:26 PM

User image

Master
Rio Rancho, NM

I don't know much about the equipment requirements but Jens Voigt has been posting about "Zwift" that is supposed to allow you to ride virtually with others.

2015-01-08 1:40 PM

User image

Extreme Veteran