General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Question about knee pain Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2015-01-11 12:34 PM

Subject: Question about knee pain
I've been training for about 8 months for my first triathlon in 2015 and recently started having some pain just below my right knee cap. It's not a sharp pain - just a little soarness when I run. I also feel it (worse) when I drive my truck. Maybe this is due to my leg being slightly turned to the side and lateral pressure applied to the knee while I'm driving.

Does anyone have any info or advice about this?

Thanks!

2015-01-11 1:56 PM
in reply to: 2001jeepwrangler

User image

Ottawa, Ontario
Subject: RE: Question about knee pain
*I am not a doctor, nor a sports therapist, and cannot properly diagnose your particular issue*

However.... sounds like patellar tendonitis or patellofemoral syndrome.

You may need to give the knee some rest for a while. Elevating the knee and icing it can help. This type of thing can be prevented by diligent strengthening and stretching. I like RunSmart as a resource for excercises: https://www.runsmartonline.com/live/how-to-improve-run-form.php
You also mention you've been running for 8 months - if you haven't already you may want evaluate whether or not its time for new shoes - running on worn out shoes can cause problems.
2015-01-11 3:47 PM
in reply to: SenatorClayDavis

Thanks. I'll look at that site.
2015-01-11 7:19 PM
in reply to: 2001jeepwrangler

User image

Pro
Bellingham, WA

I find that I get similar knee pain periodically especially when I up my mileage.  My best defense against this over the years is to rotate several shoes.  I prefer a soft neutral shoe but if I put too many miles in on these my knees hurt so I rotate in some mild stability shoes each week. 

New Thread
General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Question about knee pain Rss Feed  
RELATED POSTS

knee pain question

Started by Raansnel
Views: 859 Posts: 4

2014-11-03 8:00 AM brigby1