General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Bike Training Advice Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2015-01-23 2:18 PM

Subject: Bike Training Advice
I am relatively new to triathlon. I am a strong runner and swimmer and did both competitively in highschool/college. I am not a great cyclist. Up until now, I've gotten away with training for the bike leg of my tri's just by doing a couple of spin classes a week. I've done reasonably well in the tri's I have done due to my run and swim background, but my bike really lets me down. I would like to do a 70.3 and become more competitive in the Olympic tri's as well. I recently joined a triathlon studio and have been coached sessions with a group on the compu trainer (it's very cold where I live so outdoor training is not an option) 2-3 times a week in order to improve my bike leg and hopefully be able to do well in a fall 70.3 (as well as in my summer tri's).

The coach at the club has me focusing on my pedal efficiency (which was initially terrible from relying on spin classes) and keeping my heart rate in the 120-130 range for the duration of the ride (1-1.5 hours) whilst I base build. I am finding the training really frustrating and I feel like I am losing fitness by doing these rides at such an easy effort. The coach wants me to keep my training in that zone for a couple more weeks before I increase the effort. I don't know whether I should stick with this or find another group or potentially find an online plan and train by myself at home. I am wondering if any experienced triathletes have a sense of whether what I am doing is good training, or a waste of time. Any advice or comments are appreciated!

2015-01-23 5:18 PM
in reply to: runningfi

Master
Northern IL
Subject: RE: Bike Training Advice