General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Strength training at home Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2015-02-05 11:48 PM

User image

Subject: Strength training at home
Hey all! I know this kind of thread has been made before, but I am hoping by making a new one I can try get some specific bits of advice instead of sticking bits and pieces together!

I started going to the gym late last year, after having started triathlon at the start of 2014. I initially followed the workouts created for me by the staff, before moving on to this workout here. http://www.active.com/triathlon/articles/mark-allen-s-12-best-stren...

I have been doing that consistently two times per week for about 3 months and I have seen some improvement and feel stronger. However, I have a dilemma, and basically, it has come down to financial reasoning! The health center I go to has just started up a Masters swim program, something I am very keen to attend. I went to my first session last night, and it was the hardest but most fulfilling swim I have done so far, and the coach said it was more of a technique session compared to the other one, which was more sprints etc.

At the moment I pay (this is in AUD, mind you) $82 a month for all areas access, pool, gym, saunas, classes etc. All I WAS using was swimming 2-3 times per week, and gym twice. Now, the masters is an additional $75 per month for both classes each week. I am figuring those two classes will be 2 of my 3 swims, and as I cannot yet combine the masters program in to the all areas membership, you can see it's quite expensive.

On the other hand, I am really finding it relieving to start to declutter my life as I try to head toward a minimalistic approach to possessions and the spending of money. I own a TRX trainer from a few years ago that I used to do, and I have been trying to work in some home yoga stuff.