General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Training with HR (a novice question) Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2015-02-10 10:31 AM

Subject: Training with HR (a novice question)
Hi there,

I'm a newbie to triathlon, coming from a not particularly running background. I committed and bought a watch with a HR strap and have been trying to commit to a structured training program rather than just ad hoc as I have been for the last couple of years running.

What I have been finding however, is that when running, I've been really struggling to keep my heart rate down in the zone 2-3 range as frequently prescribed in the plan. Zone 4 starts at 85% max heart rate. (My MHR calculated on a track, not algorithm. 2 BPM lower for bike than running).

Perhaps unintuitive to myself, while cycling (either on my spin bike, or outside), something I have spent less time on historically except daily commuting, I find it much easier to stay within the recommended heart rate zones.

Should I really be running 9 minute miles and slower at times when training for an Olympic distance triathlon, given my last half marathon time was 1:33?

Many thanks for your help in advance.

2015-02-10 10:51 AM
in reply to: 0

User image

Subject: RE: Training with HR (a novice question)
9:00/mile wouldn't be that slow for your zone 2 pace for long runs (on the slower end of the range, perhaps), but you could be closer to 8:30 or even 8:00 for shorter easy runs. Runner friends of mine who do half-marathons that fast will do their aerobic running around 8:30-ish.

It is possible that the max heart rate you got at the track is lower than your actual max. How long did you run to get the max HR?

For running zones I like to set zones based on race paces rather than max HR (which is hard right to get unless you do it in a lab).