General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Feedback on Swim video Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2015-02-19 6:08 AM

User image

New user
Kingston, Ontario
Subject: Feedback on Swim video
Not so hot at the swimming and i have been basically teaching myself through youtube videos and this website.. Have a link so if you have a chance maybe check it out and give me some pointers if you can... Don't mind the video its not the best but pretty good for a couple of hillbillies in a pool. I watched this video once and got bored pretty quick so i appreciate your time lol.. Cheers

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vmv0Vvah5P8

2015-02-19 6:56 AM
in reply to: zombie2212

User image

Durham, North Carolina
Subject: RE: Feedback on Swim video
I'm no pro so take what I say with a grain of salt.

1. Your hand/arm position needs adjusting. Sometimes your hand comes up, and your fingertips should always be below your wrist which should be below your elbow which should be below your shoulder. (I'll add a picture below). I had this same problem and it was pretty easy for me to fix. I would swim lengths while watching my hands (supposed to look down for alignment, but it worked to fix this problem).

2. I also think you need to roll your body more in the water (get more sideways). It should make you a little more streamlined and also make breathing easier.

It looks like when you breathe you're pushing down on the water to try to get up. I don't know how to fix that, but I hear people talking about that. That's how I breathe on my left side, and I will hopefully fix that in the future, but for now I'll just stick to breathing on my right side :D

I'm also currently switching to the Total Immersion version of kicking which is one per stroke, but I know that's a style choice. For me it has helped a lot. I was creating a lot of drag with my legs while kicking that I wasn't making up with propulsion.

Hope this helps.

(hand position.png)

Attachments
----------------