General Discussion Triathlon Talk » IM 70.3 Training Program Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2015-02-23 2:05 PM

Subject: IM 70.3 Training Program
Hello Bt,

I am looking for a training plan to complete my goal IM 70.3 Austin, any input would be appreciated.

A little background on my self. I'm 23 year old and in decent shape. I have competed in a couple of sprints and overall have done okay. I biggest weakness is swimming (last spring was 250m and took me 8 minutes.....). I have been cycling for 4 years and the bike is my strongest leg. I am training now but it is sporadic and undisciplined at best.

So basically I am looking for a plan catered toward a begginer that is easy to follow. Also below is my tentative race schedule for 2015, all of my races are catered toward training.

3/15 - St Patrick's Day Sprint
4/15 - Big D Half Marathon
6/7 - Play Tri Olympic
8/23 - Hottest Half Marathon
10/18 - US Open Olympic
11/18 - Ironman 70.3 Austin

Thank you

2015-02-23 2:24 PM
in reply to: bbeale90

User image

Master
Kailua, Hawaii
Subject: RE: IM 70.3 Training Program
did you check out the BT HIM plans on the site ? they have a free one and paid.

http://beginnertriathlete.com/discussion/training/trainingplans-lis...

2015-02-23 2:25 PM

User image

Veteran
Apex, NC
My favorite.

http://triathlon.competitor.com/2010/09/training/super-simple-ironm...

Btw, I'm not sure if there's any way to prepare yourself for those rough roads at Austin but if you can think of a way, do it. My teeth are still rattling.
2015-02-23 3:27 PM
in reply to: #5095502

I have looked at both of those. The swimming on them seems to be about my ability. Would you just do as much as possibly and work up to them?

Also thanks for the tip about Austin, which 70.3 would you recommend?
2015-02-23 4:11 PM

User image

Veteran
Apex, NC
Originally posted by bbeale90