General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Starting Out - but not a total rookie? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2015-04-09 11:32 AM

Subject: Starting Out - but not a total rookie?
Hey guys,

So, I'm new to all things triathlon, but I'm not new to running, swimming, or generally being in shape. I'm confused about where to start; both educationally and plan-wise.

Here's the deal: Tuesday I did a quick VO2max test (after a weightlifting session); 1931 meters in 12 minutes (running). I probably could have covered more, but I was on a treadmill. Wednesday I did a 25 minute indoor bike and hit 10 miles. I don't think the numbers are impressive or anything, don't get me wrong, I just wanted to get a test of endurance. A lot of plans I see start out assuming a base layer of no endurance and no fitness.

I don't think 'walk/run' plans would help me very much right now. That is, I think I'd be wasting some valuable training time by taking what amounts to a step backwards.

So, that said, are there any recommended 'starting places' for training schedules for someone who would otherwise start in the MIDDLE of the 'couch to 5k' approach? Thanks, all.

LaS.

2015-04-09 12:41 PM
in reply to: LiftAndShoot

User image

Exton, PA
Subject: RE: Starting Out - but not a total rookie?
No plan is perfect for everyone, if you are already in shape and just new to tri's then look at some intermediate plans. You didn't say what your training for or when?

I've never used an off the shelf plan as is, I've always modified them around my schedule and fitness level. However it is a good place to start to get an idea of how to set up your training.
2015-04-09 12:48 PM

User image

you can make your own training plan on here. Just click the TRAINING PLANS tab and make a custom one. It is super easy. I'm in the same boat as you and after looking around for a plan I just did the make your own plan and i'm really happy with it!
2015-04-09 1:59 PM
in reply to: mike761