General Discussion Triathlon Talk » IM Mont Tremblant bike course Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2015-04-11 6:55 AM

User image

Subject: IM Mont Tremblant bike course
Dear All,
I'm signed up for IM Mont Tremblant in August, and training is going fine but I'm fretting about the bike course. I knew when I registered that in each loop there are two, significant climbs, but looking more closely I discovered that some of the grades are up to 15% (though the average is around 4%.) To those who have done MT before: Should I change the gearing on my bike to make sure I can make it to the top of these hills without having to dismount?

I have another, delicate question for you experienced IM folks. This will be my first IM - I chose it because it gets such great reviews, and I want to practice my French I've done a bunch of Olympic tris, a half iron, and I've been running marathons for 30 years. The half iron was a blast, but it's a long enough race that I couldn't possibly have made it through without a pee stop. What do people do during an IM?

Thanks!

2015-04-11 11:15 AM
in reply to: kathfair

User image

Extreme Veteran
Cypress, TX
Subject: RE: IM Mont Tremblant bike course

IMMT is a harder than average bike course but nowhere near as tough as Whistler or Tahoe.  You should still run some kind of hill gearing... like an 11-28 cassette and a compact or mid-compact crankset (50/34 or 52/36).  A more powerful cyclist could get away with running a standard cassette with standard gearing but judging from your post and your picture you're an older female so you're probably not in the more powerful cyclist category.  No offense intended.

You should pee a lot during an IM.  If you're not that means you're really dehydrated which is a bad thing.  I try to pee 3-4 times on the bike.  I usually stop once to use a port-a-potty and the other times I just let loose while on the bike.  Just rinse that area off with a water bottle when I'm finished.