General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Ten weeks until my first HIM Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2015-04-26 7:49 AM

User image

Subject: Ten weeks until my first HIM
Are there any last minute training tips that I should know? I have been doing sprints and oly's for two years, so this year, I decided to step it up. I have spent the winter working hard on the swim (my worst leg) and finally have 1800m down to under 45 min consistently. I run 25-30 miles a week, swim 6000-7500m a week, and bike about 50 mi a week. I also strength train 2x/week. The bike is by far my strongest leg, so I haven't been focusing on that. I have been base building the other sports, and am now ramping up the bike (historically I haven't had any problems with 80-100 mi rides).

My longest bricks in the last two months have been 12 mi run/2500m swim, and a 32 mi bike/10 mi run. I was tired at the end of both, but not wiped out. I think that if the race were held tomorrow, I could finish, but I might have a hard time hitting my goal of under 6.5 hours.

I have also been working on figuring out what I can eat that doesn't mess with my stomach on the run. I tend to get sick very easily while running if there is anything in my stomach, so I have been trying to train my body to handle small amounts of food before and during runs.

So, with that in mind, is there anything I am missing? Like I said, I am going to ramp up the bike workouts. The weather is warming up, so I can start getting some OWS in before then. I need a couple more bricks. Anything else?

2015-04-27 2:15 AM
in reply to: happyscientist

User image

Master
Kailua, Hawaii
Subject: RE: Ten weeks until my first HIM
the first thing that comes to mind when I read your post, is I am Tired.

Personally it sounds like you are over training. I mean it sounds like you are doing great, but maybe too much.

Do you have a training plan for the "A" race ?