General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » Barefoot runner and new cyclist from central Ohio Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2015-05-25 6:18 AM

User image

Subject: Barefoot runner and new cyclist from central Ohio
Just wanted to post a little introductory. My background is mainly running, which after getting out of shape and gaining a lot of weight in my 20's I got back into things in my 30's and got serious when I went barefoot towards the end of 2011. A couple years into it I finally surpassed all my records in both distance and speed - all except for 5k time I set back in high school which I'm not sure if I'll ever achieve again. I've done lots of races from 5k's up to a couple marathons so far.

I loved biking as a kid but never had a road bike, just a big knobby tired MTB. When I started thinking about getting a road bike, the fit and specifications just perplexed me. They seem more complicated then a car! Never wanted to spend the money the LBS was asking for a new bike (even the relatively entry level ones) but didn't know enough about them to know what to look for used. After quite a while of soliciting advice and doing research I finally picked up a road bike and started biking last year, a 100% original '88 Schwinn LeTour for $80. I fell in love with the bike actually! This year I thought more about getting into racing and started looking for another road bike, one I could set aside for racing. I ended up getting two more '88 Schwinns by coincidence, a Tempo that will be project bike (a little rough) and a near perfect condition Prologue.

I'm still relatively new to road biking and have lots of questions so that's why I am here. I can't really swim so my main interest at this point is duathlon, but I LOVE to paddle and might try one of the paddle/bike/run tris someday as well.

2015-05-27 7:44 AM
in reply to: T-Stew

User image

Melon Presser
Subject: RE: Barefoot runner and new cyclist from central Ohio