General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Starting masters swim - any tips for newbie Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2015-09-27 8:19 AM

, Ontario
Subject: Starting masters swim - any tips for newbie
I haven't taken swimming lessons or swum in a group setting since I was 14 years old. I couldn't find a one on one coach and couldn't make improvement alone after three years returning to swimming (I got up to 2.5 km in. 50 m pool but couldn't seem to improve my speed). I was able to find a masters group focused on triathletes but I'm quite stressed about it. I still consider myself a beginner triathlete although I'm in my third year of doing triathlons. I'm slow and close to middle aged with a full time job and young kids as well as a bad habit to deal with stress through cola and nachos to ever become really fast. My goal is to get better and improve technique so I avoid injury. I train alone. I bike alone. I swim alone. I run alone. Im not used to or keen on group training sessions but so many people seem to rave that this sport and their train group is such a great social thing (and I really want to improve) that I'm going to take myself out of my comfort zone and go.

I have basic swim gear as well as a buoy and hand pulls. I don't have flippers. Are there any tips anyone has about equipment or etiquette for masters groups anyone can share? Even small things, like a friend warning me that it is polite to lift your hand to wave at bicyclists coming the other way on training rides, really help my stress.

2015-09-27 8:55 AM
in reply to: CarolynS

User image

Master
Eugene, Oregon
Bronze member
Subject: RE: Starting masters swim - any tips for newbie