General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Lowering the handlebar on a roadbike Cervelo S5 Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2015-11-19 8:45 PM

User image

Subject: Lowering the handlebar on a roadbike Cervelo S5
Hi,

have a question. I have been riding only 2 years. 1 year on my beloved S5.
I just finished my first Ironman and am entering off season now, so thought this would be the right time try if I could change my riding position. I would like to get a bit more aero. I know at my first bike fit I was a beginner (still am) so I think I am sitting quite upright compared to a lot of the more seasoned guys.

So would like to lower my handlebar. But then I believe the distance from the seat to the handlebar increases? So was wondering. To offset this, would you move your seat forward a bit, or get a shorter stem to move the handlebar backwards, or just try to get used to the new position without moving either?

2015-11-20 8:56 AM
in reply to: knuta99

User image

Expert
Albuquerque, NM
Subject: RE: Lowering the handlebar on a roadbike Cervelo S5
I'd just start with lowering the stem. Changing two things at once may lead to confusion on what helps and what hurts.
Keep the spacers, moving them from under the stem to above the stem so that you can go back if you need to.
You can always trim it later when you get it dialed in.
2015-11-20 10:09 AM
in reply to: knuta99

User image

Pro
Melbourne FL
Gold member