General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Converting a road bike to a TT bike Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2016-04-15 6:15 PM

User image

Subject: Converting a road bike to a TT bike
Hi friends,

I am a broke college student so I'm hoping to convert my road bike into a TT bike for an Ironman later this year. I'm wondering what your opinions are regarding this and what could be my best set up. What I am planning on doing, so far, is adding clip-aero bars, off-set seat post, and possibly (I just read about this) a drop track stem. Thoughts? Ideas? Thank you all in advance!

2016-04-16 9:10 AM
in reply to: afin03

User image

Pro
, New Hampshire
Subject: RE: Converting a road bike to a TT bike
Don't do it... the geometry of a road bike is designed with a rearward weight balance, and moving everything forward will cause imbalance. Stick with the road geometry, add shortie (aka ITU) bars and do not change the seat post or stem. You have a road bike, try to make it the best road bike it can be, not a mediocre attempt of a tri bike.
2016-04-18 4:56 AM

User image

IMHO the most important thing you need are the aerobars, I got some shorties like mentioned above, but I was not comfortable with them at all. Was not able to relax on them as I felt really cramped due to the short distance from the tip of the aerobar to where you elbows/forearms should rest.
Got a pair of normal longer aero bars and got very comfortable. Moved my saddle slightly forwarded and very soon realized I needed a new saddle as the pressure on my groin was very different when I was leaning on the aerobars.
Maybe I was lucky but I found a middle ground where my (new) saddle was still in a fairly normal position so I was comfortable on the drop bar as well as the aero without having to change any stems or posts.