General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Mini-Breakthrough in the Pool Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2016-05-03 9:25 AM

Subject: Mini-Breakthrough in the Pool
So I had a mini-breakthrough in the pool this morning which I am pretty happy about. As some of you may know I am new to triathlons and have been swimming for distance about three months. I decided to try the 0 to 1650 program last wee, so today I was supposed to start week 2. I got in the pool and the first 100m I swam as part of my warmup was horrible, felt like I was gonna sink to the bottom and had no energy. I should preface that with explaining that before going to the pool I spent an hour sleeping on my son's floor because he refused to stay in his bed, so I think my body was pretty stiff from that lol. Anyways I finished my warmup and started on the first 200m set. About 150-175m in I felt like I had really landed in a groove and decided not to stop at 200m. So I kept plodding along and really felt good, not out of breathe just some fatigue in my arms. I finally stopped because I just stopped counting laps and really didn't know how far I was at. My watch said 350m which is the longest distance I have swam uninterrupted so far, but I definitely could have kept going. Now I realize that is not an incredible amount of distance and you are probably thinking "I thought he was gonna say he stopped at like a 1000m or something". But I think the most important part for me was (1) I think I finally felt what it was like to be in a groove with swimming (2) when I stopped I was not breathing hard at all,it was almost as if I had just been standing there and (3) I realized if I just kept going even though I felt tired at around 200m I could settle down for a longer distance. I think I took about a minute break and then hit another 200m effort and from there just did some 50's and 100's.