General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Nutrition question Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2016-05-07 11:14 PM

Subject: Nutrition question
Sorry, another post but I'm new to triathlons and training for one and just curious about what everyone eats before training and after and what you think the best type of diet to maintain during training is. I'm attempting to do high protein right now but I just love the junk food and wine! Trying to find a balance! Any advice? I'm not stupid, I know to lay off the alcohol and stick to fruits and veggies and lean meats but it's hard!

2016-05-08 7:49 AM
in reply to: Kat52383

, Wisconsin
Subject: RE: Nutrition question
My wife and I have been "exploring" nutrition, reading tons of different books, trying all sorts of diets etc. for about 30 years. A few keys seem to be the most important:
1) Lots of veggies and fruits, as much variety as possible
2) Avoid processed foods of any kind
3) Organic or wild caught etc. if possible
4) Drink lots of water daily
5) We probably eat more fish and chicken than red meat
6) Try not to eat a lot of carbs

That said, I still love good bread, baked potatoes, hot fudge sundaes, good cookies. I just try to keep those things as more occasional treats and limit them as much as possible.
2016-05-08 8:20 AM
in reply to: MikeD1

User image

Extreme Veteran
Maryland