General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » Another Newbie Here Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2016-05-16 3:01 PM

User image

Subject: Another Newbie Here
HI everyone, I have recently joined the BT site and I have been training for about two months now. My husband has been doing Tri for a couple of years and is currently doing the Olympic distance with a plan for a 70.3 in Arizona in October. Strangely enough, it looked like fun as I already run and have a road bike. What I didn't do is swim, but I've now taken up the challenge. I've been swimming twice a week (most weeks) for about 8 weeks now. I am slow and working on form, but I feel better as I did about 450 yeads continuous in 10 minutes the other day during a mini indoor tri that my gym hosted. I was happy to be able to go continuous that long so I decided to also drop in on the Tri swim club where a coach works with the group on form.

Boy did I learn a lot in that one session.

Anyway, just wanted to say hi.

2016-05-16 4:00 PM
in reply to: harada.gal

User image

Pennsylvania
Subject: RE: Another Newbie Here

Hi!  Congrats on your swim progress and your smart approach to improving your swim.  A tri club and/or a coach can potentially be good resources for improving form and technique.  Keep up the good work!  Are you registered for any races yet?

2016-05-17 8:15 AM
in reply to: melbo55

User image

Expert
Middle River, Maryland
Silver member

Welcome and good luck!  You'll find a ton of good information here.

2016-05-20 9:56 PM
in reply to: melbo55

User image

I have registered for two sprints:

One in Graeagle, CA July 3rd, which has a shorter swim in a "mill pond". I am hoping it will just remind me of the ponds we used to swim in as a kid so I don't freak out. This is the one I was watching my husband last year compete in and thought to myself, I could probably swim that far. Guess that is where I caught the bug.