General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Where to begin with training? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2016-05-27 10:51 PM

Subject: Where to begin with training?
I'm training for my first triathlon (sprint). I have 7 years of swim team experience and run 5 miles 2 times a week as well as bike 20 miles 1-2 times a week. The other days I do stair master for an hour (to the point where I'm soaking in sweat), do elliptical machines for an hour, and walk/hike uphill for 1.5hrs. I do light free weights 2 times a week as well as hybrid yoga. I have the endurance part down but am looking for suggestions to make my race more of a sprint. Thank you!

2016-05-28 5:09 AM
in reply to: #5184351

User image

Subject: RE: Where to begin with training?
Start doing bricks. Bike, than run right afterwards. Is is helpful to acclimate your body to this transition. Additionally, practice your transitions: going from swim to bike and bike to run.
2016-05-28 6:17 AM
in reply to: #5184359

Intervals will make you faster
2016-05-28 7:45 AM
in reply to: #5184360

User image

It's a bit hard to say whiteout know more about recent fitness history, injuries, strengths, weaknesses, goals, schedule, etc. but from what you've listed it sounds like you are doing plenty of "work", it just needs to move towards more event specific work.

Are you swimming at all currently? I too swam for years but it took me a while to get the feel for the water back. Get in the pool a few times a week. Do 5 mile runs leave you beat for a few day, or are you ready for what's next? I would recommend increasing your run frequency to 4-5 times a week with shorter mileage. You can keep that 5-6 miler for the weekend. Biking 20 miles twice a week is great! Start making those bikes count (if you aren't already) working in some shorter, higher intensity efforts on some days and longer steady state work on other days.

I'm no coach but this should get you going. Don't forget to plan in recovery too!