General Discussion Triathlon Talk » New Triathlete - Times Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2016-05-31 10:16 AM

Subject: New Triathlete - Times
I am relatively new to the sport - I started training ~ 7 months ago and I am curious if I am progressing adequately. Prior to the 7 months I was not in very good shape, didn't exercise, eat well, drank too much, etc. How long does it take to plateau? Have I already hit my plateau? Based on my times what discipline do I need to focus on? BTW, I am a 36 yr old male. Thank you all in advance for any insight you can lend.

Tri #1 Sprint - 1:04
swim - 08:13.6 (had a panic attack in pool but was able to finish)
T1 - 01:20.9
bike - 0:30:07.2 (19.9 mph ) (wrecked my bike)
T2 - 00:58.6
run 0:23:20.9

Tri #2 Oly - 3:06, both the run and bike were insanely hilly
Swim - 36:14.20
Bike - 1:36:27.86
Run - 51:48.13

Tri #3 Oly - 2:36, pretty simple course with 1 big hill and some rollers on the bike, run was all flat.
Swim – 31:56
T1 – 1:14
Bike – 1:17:09
T2 - :51
Run – 45:15

2016-05-31 12:55 PM
in reply to: Roundegg812

User image

Birmingham, Alabama
Subject: RE: New Triathlete - Times
I'm not sure plateau is really what you're looking for. You always want to try to do better don't you?

As far as reaching your peak fitness, it's hard to say. Some people are blessed with better blood pumping physiology than others. Some race conditions could affect the times you have listed. There are lots of variables.

Personally, I like to compare my times for each sport against the field and my age group at that particular race. Over time I hope to develop an average that will help me set goals and better evaluate how well I did at a race or at least give me an idea of just how good or bad I am at triathlon so I can set realistic expectations.