General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Swim Kick Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2016-06-14 7:06 AM

User image

, North Carolina
Subject: Swim Kick
I have a feeling my kick is limiting me swimming.

I've been doing a two beat kick for two years(aos). I've been able to work my way down to 1:45/100m on 15 sec rest. For my main set. Can keep 1:51 for 1500.

But, in the open water I slowed way down to 2:15. Lots of factors but the big one is I felt my legs sinking.

Does any one swimming sets at 1:30 or better use a 2 beat kick?

I've never broken 0:45 for a 50m but yesterday after a ton of kicking I was able to hit 0:42. Full sprint only one.

My next big race is 4 mile open water it is at the end of August. My plan is 4 weeks of intensive kicking. Yesterday it was kick 100/ swim 50 on 15 sec rest. Any other ways to get better at kicking?

2016-06-14 11:49 AM
in reply to: 0

User image

Cypress, Texas
Subject: RE: Swim Kick

Originally posted by Nick B I have a feeling my kick is limiting me swimming. I've been doing a two beat kick for two years(aos). I've been able to work my way down to 1:45/100m on 15 sec rest. For my main set. Can keep 1:51 for 1500. But, in the open water I slowed way down to 2:15. Lots of factors but the big one is I felt my legs sinking. Does any one swimming sets at 1:30 or better use a 2 beat kick? I've never broken 0:45 for a 50m but yesterday after a ton of kicking I was able to hit 0:42. Full sprint only one. My next big race is 4 mile open water it is at the end of August. My plan is 4 weeks of intensive kicking. Yesterday it was kick 100/ swim 50 on 15 sec rest. Any other ways to get better at kicking?