General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Bike for triathlon beginners and for dirt road Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2016-07-08 5:12 PM

Subject: Bike for triathlon beginners and for dirt road
Hi, I'm new in the buissnes, and I try to find out if triathlon is my way or not.
I'm already 34 years old, I swim only from 5 years, started to run and bike since last november.
I have an old bike, and it's not very regular for a triathlon sprint.
I'm looking forward to find a new bike, but i realy don't have idea how to find out in witch direction I have to show.
My budget: 1000-1500 CHF (same in dollar, same in euro)
What I also want is to go, from time to time on dirt roads (not mountain, but on streets that have no asphalt).
Is this possible? If yes, which good bike you can suggesst?
If no, what you suggest to do?

Txs in advance, If I was not clear enough please tell me, I will complete the informations

Heinz

2016-07-08 6:14 PM
in reply to: Code4fun

User image

Expert
Boise, Idaho
Subject: RE: Bike for triathlon beginners and for dirt road

Go to a Bicycle store.  Ask to look at Cyclocross bike.  Some people might call them Gravel Grinders.  Good Luck!

2016-07-09 4:37 PM
in reply to: 0

User image

Subject: RE: Bike for triathlon beginners and for dirt road
Originally posted by jeffnboise

Go to a Bicycle store.  Ask to look at Cyclocross bike. 

You need to be careful because the more hardcore race-oriented cyclocross bikes are liable to have mountain bike gearing, and maybe even a 1x11 drivetrain. If you're going to be doing triathlons and other paved road riding, you're going to want something with road bike gearing; something with a front derailleur and a large front chainwheel with at least 48 teeth.

"Adventure bike" seems to be the description now for a bike that's similar to an endurance road bike, but has some modest off pavement capabilities due to larger tires and perhaps slight geometry adjustments.