General Discussion Triathlon Talk » bike size charts Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2016-07-22 7:19 AM

Subject: bike size charts
newbie here,
I did my first sprint tri on a borrowed racing bike and ended with back pain.
Now I'm looking around to get a really cheap second hand starter bike.
I'm trying to understand how to determine the correct frame size for me, but on the web I have found very different height to frame charts.
can you kindly suggest a reliable site with such a chart?

Thanks
C

2016-07-22 4:47 PM
in reply to: #5192052

Subject: RE: bike size charts
If you scour the Web you'll find so much different opinion and debate it may send you into information overload. My story, and what i suggest since it worked well for me, was I went to a reputable dealer and they suggested a particular size based on my height, what they know about how their brands fit people/body types, and a few questions while I sat on it. You won't be riding the tour de france so odds are even with a simple approach like this you can get a sufficient fit... As you ride more you'll be able to tell if you want to tweak the fit with a shorter stem or different seatpost...Those are 30 dollar upgrades and can go a loooong way.
2016-07-22 8:51 PM
in reply to: panino

Sarasota, Florida
You will want to get a chart specific to the manufacturer if they offer them. You can start with your inseam to get a ballpark. I'm actually riding a bike 2 sizes too big and get by all right for sprints and Olys. I will experience occasional back or shoulder pain when experimenting with different saddle positions but it seems after a ride or two my body settles in. Getting a perfect fit wasn't so critical for me with a temporary CL purchase but I'd look at matching the manufacturer recommendation or a reputable shop's opinion. I have read it's more forgiving to go one size up for most bikes than one size down but the only certification I have are coffee stains on my lap and armchair.