General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » Should I race? Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2016-07-30 12:40 PM

Subject: Should I race?
I'm new to triathlons, just did my first sprint two months ago and have completed two more since. I am a trained runner but just started long distance swimming and biking. Just learned to clip in, but pretty comfortable. I did well enough to get first place in my age group on my second tri (I don't think there was much competition in my group, small city) and qualified for nationals in two weeks. I would love to do an Olympic length but it would be my first and I'm really intimidated that it would be at nationals. I know I will be well at the back of the pack regardless but is it unrealistic to do an Olympic this early? I can run 12 miles pretty easily, do 40 mi on the bike pretty well but the swim intimidates me. I can do 1500 in 40 min in pool. What do you think? Am I crazy?

2016-08-05 9:23 AM
in reply to: Peanut1

User image

Expert
Subject: RE: Should I race?
I don't think you're crazy! In fact I think you are selling yourself short. Most people who sign up for their first OLY don't have the base training you do - so go for it! I would recommend finding a masters swim group to help with your strong and distance.

Strange question - do you like beer? If so - why not consider joining our Beer Drinker Appreciation Society. It's a good group of people with a wide range of interests and abilities. Come check us out: http://beginnertriathlete.com/discussion/forums/thread-view.asp?tid...

Good luck!
2016-08-05 1:24 PM
in reply to: Peanut1

User image

Denver, Colorado
Subject: RE: Should I race?
When is the race?
New Thread
General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » Should I race? Rss Feed  
RELATED POSTS

WNY / Buffalo area - finished first race

Started by esnagel
Views: 672 Posts: 2

2005-06-21 9:05 AM COgirl

Why race one sport when you can race three at once!

Started by DRLski