General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Am I ready to take on Ironman 70.3? Bike training questions Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2016-08-19 1:02 PM

Subject: Am I ready to take on Ironman 70.3? Bike training questions
Hello fellow masochists

As my username suggests, I am contemplating a poor life decision at the moment. I would like to attempt my first Ironman 70.3 next June, and will have around 7 months to train properly. I can run 20 miles regularly and am able to swim in open water for 2-3 hours comfortably, however I have zero cycling experience.
I have appalling leg strength despite many hours running. Once I return to uni I will be able to dedicate 5 mornings a week to using a spin bike to try and improve my cycling, I was planning to do 2 interval sprint sessions, a long session and 2 recovery sessions (easy pace for about an hour just to get miles into my legs) each week. I was hoping that because i am already fit, it would take a few months of brutality and extreme discomfort before my legs began to adapt and my muscles begin to strengthen, and then i would be able to build mileage relatively quickly, ideally hitting 56 miles by February. Can any cyclists tell me if this hope is realistic or if i am being optimistically naive? I intend to do short runs of 5-10 minutes after each bike sessions just to get used to transitioning, and would increase these to more substantial distances at a later date. In case it affects opinions, the course elevation is around 800 ft.

Note: Alongside bike training I will continue my swim training as normal and will still do long runs, but my main concern is whether or not I am being realistic with being able to improve my cycling to the 70.3 standard in this time frame.

Many thanks for any help or advice

2016-08-19 1:49 PM
in reply to: PoorLifeDecisions

User image

Subject: RE: Am I ready to take on Ironman 70.3? Bike training questions