General Discussion Triathlon Talk » more than just swimming the crawl in the off season? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2016-09-10 1:29 PM

User image

Bronze member
Subject: more than just swimming the crawl in the off season?

Does anyone work on other strokes during the off season? I've been swimming for fitness for near 15 years now and the crawl is getting pretty boring. I taught myself flip turns one year during the winter. That was pretty fun but I don't want to start THAT debate!  

I've started adding some back stroke into my workouts and it's giving me something new to think about but I don't think I have very good technique. My butterfly and breast stroke are sad. 

I tried a swim team workout that was posted on the white board at the pool one day a few years ago It had a lot more breast stroke than I ever do including a couple of sets of 200 breast stroke. I only ever do breast stroke as an easy recovery lap between sets but this time I tried to go hard for the 200. I wound up at the doctors office and on meds for a strained muscle in my back from that little experiment.

What do your workouts look like if you incorporate other strokes? Obviously I guess I need to start slow and work on my form lol. I'm not worried about whether or not it will help my triathlon swim. I only raced once all year this year and that was the first time I have raced in 3 years. I just want to keep swimming interesting and get a good workout.

2016-09-10 6:16 PM
in reply to: trigal38

User image

Master
Eugene, Oregon
Bronze member
Subject: RE: more than just swimming the crawl in the off season?