General Discussion Triathlon Talk » How long to become a basic swimmer Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2016-09-20 6:12 PM

Subject: How long to become a basic swimmer
Hi all!

long time lurker, first time poster. Here is my question: How long before I can become what I would call a basic swimmer?

More about me: 1) for the past month, I've been swimming twice a week in a masters swimmer group at Lifetime fitness. I feel I am getting valuable feedback, but my improvement speed is... slow. 2) I am a beginner, no prior experience. 3) last weekend, I tried to go as long as I could. I did 150M (6X25M no rest), and I was pretty tired. I needed AT LEAST 1-1.5 minutes to recover. 4) I am doing mostly drills so far, and I find it valuable. There are things I am doing that I am really feeling the improvement.

Question is...how long before I can swim for like 20-30 minutes before getting tired like this? Are my expectations too high? Is improvement always that slow? The way I feel it is that learning to swim is like learning a totally different skill (like for example knitting or plumbing), and that it takes time, but am I expecting too much?

Thanks in advance for the valuable feedback,
Charlie

2016-09-20 6:51 PM
in reply to: charlie_can

Veteran
Ohio
Subject: RE: How long to become a basic swimmer
I will preface this by saying that every person is different and my experience may be total different than yours.

I was in the same boat as you, no swim training and started at age 46 in 2010. My first day in the pool I could not make it 1/3 of the way across a 25 yd pool without stopping. This was in November of 2010. I went to the pool about 3 days a week through the winter and spring. By later summer of 2011 I did my first sprint tri with an open water swim (500 yd) with a time of about 12 minutes. Swam the entire distance without stopping, but not very fast.