General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Looking for Keto help Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2016-12-29 10:44 AM

User image

Subject: Looking for Keto help
Anyone here eat Keto? I'm looking for some personalized help if possible.

2016-12-30 10:26 AM
in reply to: joshwennes

User image

Pro
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania
Subject: RE: Looking for Keto help

Why are you considering a ketogenic diet?  Do you have a health condition, such as diabetes, that you're trying to manage, or is there another reason?

My recommendations would be different depending on why you want to do it.

2016-12-30 10:29 AM
in reply to: TriMyBest

User image

I'm looking to lose some weight and lean out and I've seen some high end triathletes use the Keto diet. No medical conditions or anything like that. I can provide more information if it'd be of any assistance.
2016-12-30 2:40 PM
in reply to: 0

User image

Ventura, California

First off I am not a doctor so my recommendations/advice on the subject is to be taken with a proverbial grain of salt.

Keep in mind that 'high end' athletes tend to have a established group of dietitians and doctors from which to get advisement and supervision. 

Ketosis is a emergency survival function of the body and is not something you want to use as a 'diet' to lose weight. To get your body into ketosis you need to reduce your carb intake to typically less then 30-40grams per day for days on end. To put that into perspective that is 1 can of coke (39g). Now your brain is the largest consumer of glucose which comes from carbs. So already you have a issue of starving your brain. But you also want to train and workout, well your body needs carbs to create glucose for energy production. Your body will also start cannibalizing lean muscle mass as well. So unless you want to fall into shambles fairly quickly and sabotage your health. I think you should leave the whole ketogenic 'diet' thing alone.