General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » Hi! Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2017-01-04 7:48 AM

Subject: Hi!
Hey,

My name is Stefanie. I'm new to the sport although an ironman has been on my bucket list for about ten years. I just never believed I could do it

I lost about 50lbs in the last year doing crossfit six days a week. Due to a work injury it's just not feasible to continue and I wanted to stay active. So, I bit the bullet, and signed up for an Olympic Tri in June.

I'm excited and nervous and routinely ask myself what the heck I was thinking but carry a bit of pride too . Most of my training will be in doors until the Spring. There is a tri group locally that I'll do some open water swims and bikes with

2017-01-06 9:36 PM
in reply to: Stefwagner

User image

Extreme Veteran
Penticton, BC
Subject: RE: Hi!

Hi Stefanie, Welcome to BT.  This is a really good place to start your Triathlon experience.  There is a lot to learn on your way and the people here are usually willing to answer your questions.

Congrats on losing 50 lbs.  You're off to a really good start and your June Oly is a good motivator.  You are wise to do some open water swim training before your race.  A tri group is a really good way to start and make supportive friends.

Some suggestions for you to consider:

Very important - Get some coaching on your swimming and start right away.  Swimming is the limiting factor for most triathletes (you don't mention your athletic background).  Swim at least 3 times per week.  More if you are not a swimmer.

Join a mentor group here on BT.  There should be a group that suits your needs.

If you get a chance volunteer at races to get exposure to what happens and get to meet likeminded people.

Read race reports here on BT especially for Olympic races and hopefully even for the race you signed up for.  They are great for inspiration and good tips.