General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Increasing swimming volume Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2017-03-10 2:03 PM

New user
Subject: Increasing swimming volume
I've been swimming on and off for 4 years (adult on set). 'In season, ' I swim 5-6k yards per week. Average pace is around 2:00 minutes per 100 yards. I want to increase my yardage to 8-10k yards per week, but wondering how much intensity to do while allowing my body to the adjust to the increase? I am currently swimming3x per week at ababout 2k per session. Warm up, then sets of 50s, 100s usually.

2017-03-10 9:50 PM
in reply to: 0

User image

Official BT Coach
Indianapolis, Indiana
Gold member
Subject: RE: Increasing swimming volume

Originally posted by goforit I've been swimming on and off for 4 years (adult on set). 'In season, ' I swim 5-6k yards per week. Average pace is around 2:00 minutes per 100 yards. I want to increase my yardage to 8-10k yards per week, but wondering how much intensity to do while allowing my body to the adjust to the increase? I am currently swimming3x per week at ababout 2k per session. Warm up, then sets of 50s, 100s usually.

What race distance are you training for?  That makes a huge difference.  Not necessarily in repetition length but in volume.

At 2:00/100y you have some technique issues that are holding you back.  A couple of lessons with a qualified coach/instructor will help you reduce drag and swim more efficiently which will eventually translate into speed.

As to what intensity to train at.  Swimming isn't like running.  You can swim VERY hard and not risk injury.  The idea is to swim repetitions with sufficient rest so you can maintain proper technique.  But here's the rub.  You need to develop proper technique and swim fitness simultaneously.  They go hand in hand.  You can't have proper technique without good swim fitness and you can't have proper swim fitness without good technique.  Technique and fitness are two sides of the same coin.