General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » Workouts for health are boring! Triathlons give me a reason! Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2017-03-29 9:22 AM

Subject: Workouts for health are boring! Triathlons give me a reason!
Hello-

I'm a noob ( never done a tri) but have been an avid dreamer for awhile.
I'm a 45 yr old ex athlete that ate like a child for too many years adding 10-15 lbs a decade and would exercise in spurts for a month or two and go back to being a sofa sloth with beer and ch]ps.

Finally, I realized the problem- I'm the type that needs a reason to workout (apparently fat butt and possible early death is not a motivator for me).

So in my sloth time I'm reading about quick fix (I don't want to be a fatty but want instant results) diets and exercise programs and tried a few to find out that I get bored with every one of them because I'm not seeing the results promised.

The fix- Working out for a reason. I have a treadmill and bought an indoor bike. I started running and biking and lifting. Then went that got boring bought a swim membership at the local pool. After that started to wear off in comes the thought of triathlon. It got me through the winter and I signed up for my first Triathlon. My workout sessions have increased dramatically (I was starting to trudge through with a get it over with attitude). My goal is ahead and my times keep me going.

Oh and I've lost 30 lbs as a result (could lose another 30) and that's not even why I'm training. Nice side benefit but its all about theTri!

2017-03-29 3:07 PM
in reply to: Shotshell

User image

Davenort, Iowa
Subject: RE: Workouts for health are boring! Triathlons give me a reason!
Welcome!!! Congrats on the weight loss already! Keep up the good work. Just planning the one triathlon for this year??? Any other races?
2017-03-29 4:56 PM
in reply to: Rooster519

Originally posted by Rooster519