General Discussion Triathlon Talk » A question never asked about Bikes. Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2017-03-29 10:24 AM

Subject: A question never asked about Bikes.
Yes, I'm trying to be funny/sarcastic.

Here's the story. I have a 1993 Bianchi Ibex from way back in my MT bike days. I have big fat road tires (a least not knobby) and I've been doing my 9-12 miles 3 times a week as I ramp up to my first Sprint Tri in June. My speed average is 14mph (way too slow).

I'm a noob (of course) but I'm hoping to do at least three sprint tris this year. Just to dip my toe into the triathlon world. I do not foresee going bigger (Olympic or Iron) as I'm a sprint type of guy, with the hope/focus is on going faster and faster every year. Let's be honest though my initial goal is just to finish and do it with a respectable time.

The question- Am I road bike guy or a tri bike guy?

I see myself as only training racing in triathlons and I have my old MT bike for family or even group rides if the occasion presents itself. So I'm leaning beginner/ used tri bike, but would love to hear opinions.

I have a line on a 2014 Raleigh Singulus for $800 new http://www.raleigh-canada.ca/2014-bikes-road-race-singulus

and I'm looking at a:

Tomasso Vento a guy bought it and never used because he got a better bike handed to him He will sell it for $750 https://giantnerd.com/collections/balance-bikes/products/tommaso-ven...

Opinions and Ideas on these two beginner bikes or even if I should just get a used road bike are welcome!

2017-03-29 11:26 AM
in reply to: Shotshell

User image

Davenort, Iowa
Subject: RE: A question never asked about Bikes.