General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Outcome lateral meniscus injury Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2017-04-26 5:18 AM

Subject: Outcome lateral meniscus injury
Hey,
I recently had an acl repair, and had to have about 50% of my lateral meniscus removed.
I'm an avid ultra distance runner, but my surgeon now suggested I choose another sport.
Don't think I'll struggle to get back to activity now, but am more worried about the longterm consequences. There' s not much good data available of longterm outcomes, although people with these injuries are at risk of earlier osteoathritis an knee replacement.

I was wondering if anyone had longterm experience with continued activity despite meniscus removal, do you have any problems?

2017-05-02 11:40 AM
in reply to: runsa

User image

Oviedo, Florida
Subject: RE: Outcome lateral meniscus injury
Yes... I've got lots of experience with ACL reconstruction.

Had mine rebuilt in 1988. They used my tendon, pulled it up and drilled it into my knee. Yeah, sucked big time. Crutches, then a cane and a significant limp for about 3 years. They removed 100% meniscus and 100% cartilage. It's all gone. Every bit of it. Kind of an Osteo-nightmare.
Surgeon said I'd never run again. So, of course a couple years later I started again. I found the more I ran the better I felt. Seems that the more I ran the stronger my knee became.

Now fast forward 27 years. That's when it all caught up to me. Because of bone on bone, I ended up fracturing my femur and tibia.The Osteo-Arthritis has eaten away pretty much most of what was left of my knee.

Had two more surgeons say "you'll never run again - ever". Both said I needed a full knee replacement. Neither would do the surgery because they knew I would start running again and they felt it would destroy the appliance.