General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Failure Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2017-05-14 10:59 AM

Subject: Failure
Yesterday I tryed and failed at my first 800 meter open water swim. It was in 79 degree water at false river in Louisiana. After reading the forms here it looks like I made two mistakes. Not doing a practice open water swim and not warming up. My pool training I thought was good enough. I was swimming 1000 meters with out stopping take a 1 minute 30 seconds break and finish with 600 meters.
As soon as I took off I felt my heart rate took off and I could not exhale under water. I only made it around 100 meters and had to pull over to a kayak. I rested tryed to calm myself and tryed to go again but it was the same thing I could not exhale under water. I've been swimming in the pool on and off for around 6 months. Mostly on for the last 3 months. I would like to say that the water was too cold and it took my breath away but I don't think it was that. I'm sure that I already know what you guys and girl's are going to tell me that I should have warmed up before the race and also should have practice in the open water. I am really struggling with the failure. I don't know if I am asking for advice or it just feels better writing it down to help me get over it. But I know I am not quitting. I will get this done.

2017-05-14 1:20 PM
in reply to: Distro

User image

Ventura, California
Subject: RE: Failure

Sorry to hear about your experience, that definitely would be disappointing. As you have learned, open water swimming is much much different then pool swimming. There is quite abit of anxiety going out in deep water and the only way to overcome that is to get experience with it. Cold water can make it even more difficult.