General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Tweak Breaststroke or work on Crawl? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2017-05-20 11:26 PM

Subject: Tweak Breaststroke or work on Crawl?
Complete newbie. Signed up for a sprint tri in mid/late July for a good cause. I'm fit, strong on a bike and a decent runner. Avid surfer, but no formal swim training or form at all.

Swim is 500m in a lake; out and back. After a few sessions in he pool, I realized I am terrible at the crawl. Tense, wrestling with mechanics and breathing, and I'm out of breath after 50m. However, I can apparantly swim my own take on the breaststroke quite comfotably. 500m right around 12m. Certainly not spectacular but Im not stressed after 500m and imagine I could shave 1-2m off of that by race day if I practice. I'm not worried about comfort in open water because I surf spots a pretty good distance out, occaisionally break a leash, and manage not to panic, dodge set waves and always manage to make it in without panic.

Anyway, im in a weekly lesson, but with only 10 wks til the race, 2 of which Ill be travelling, I'm not sure if I should keep trying to learn the crawl, or just try to tweak my weirdo breast stroke instead. Swim is only 500m, so not really a menacing length. Even if the crawl clicks for me, im wondering in such a short time, whether its even possible to make it more effective than the breast stroke for this race.

This past week I made it to the pool 3 times between lessons and did two 500m breast strokes witj mahbe 1-2 min rest between. Im around 12m on each. Heartrate is low at the end compared to what it is when running or riding, so I cannprobably push harder.

Any thoughts/advice appreciated..

2017-05-21 12:45 AM
in reply to: pkovo

User image

Elite
Alturas, California
Subject: RE: Tweak Breaststroke or work on Crawl?