General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » Newbie here Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2017-06-25 7:02 PM

User image

Subject: Newbie here
Hello. I'm new - BRAND NEW - I'm doing my first tri July 29th. The Wild Rose Sprint in TN. I wear glasses so I'm curious to know if anyone has pointers for transitioning with the glasses.

2017-06-26 8:34 AM
in reply to: Kissminnie1

User image

Champion
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Bronze member
Subject: RE: Newbie here

Check with the race director.  

Many races have a table where participants like you can place their glasses for retrieval at the swim exit.  Alternatively, they may allow your favorite spectator to hand you your glasses after you get out of the water.  If you do this option, pick a place where you can walk to without your glasses and not impede other participants.  As an example, if you exit the water and have to turn right 50' from the water, have your favorite spectator standing on the left just past the turn.  (It will work far better for you to be on the outside of the turn.)  

While it will seem like some fumbling around, you may consider navigating all the way to your bike without glasses.  Practice the walk from swim to exactly where your bike is racked a time or two with your glasses and again a few times without your glasses.  50-steps, go right, 37 steps, pass under the flags, 24 steps, turn right, 10 steps, your bike!  

Regardless, expect that your glasses may be smudged or spotted and have a way to clean them before you start riding.  

Welcome to the sport!  

2017-06-26 3:23 PM

I'm also doing my first tri in July I've ordered some prescription sunglasses (that are currently delayed ) for the bike and run portion. Of course, I can also see well enough to make my way from the water to the transition area. Anyway, If you have vision insurance, then you can probably get a decent pair cheap-ish. And good luck!!!
2017-06-26 3:55 PM

User image

Extreme Veteran