General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Sudden increase in excessive sweating Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2017-07-24 10:17 AM

User image

Denver, Colorado
Subject: Sudden increase in excessive sweating
I've been training for 4+ years, and feel like I know my body and its sweating, and responses to heat (I train in Chicago).

In the last couple of weeks the amount of sweat is just extremely abnormal. The water is basically flowing down from my body. No smell, though, just the hectoliters of sweat. I have not made any changes to diet/nutrition/fluid intake recently, the weather remains the same. Because of the water loss, I am the most thirsty person on Earth during the run/ride, and I am drinking like crazy when coming back.

Thus, I am concerned. I made an appointment with my doctor for tomorrow, but decided to check with other athletes, in case there is something I should add to considerations, and discuss with my doctor.

2017-07-24 10:42 AM
in reply to: marysia83

Master
Northern IL
Subject: RE: Sudden increase in excessive sweating

I've been sweating more the last couple weeks too, but not enough for me to be concerned with it as the humidity has also been higher. The temperatures have been fairly normal for the last few years, but the humidity seems to have stayed up there more often with all these storms coming through. I'm drenched from some very easy & short runs. Rides aren't very long, but I'm really getting soaked before going through the hard parts. Still go get checked out if you're concerned as it can be kind of tough to quantify what you're describing.

For others not in the area, the water level increase north of the city has been enough that several rivers have been flooding and relief programs have been set up to help. They haven't been a few minor sprinkles.

2017-07-26 9:22 AM
in reply to: 0

User image

Denver, Colorado
Originally posted by brigby1