General Discussion Triathlon Talk » New Wheels for a Newbie Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2017-07-25 9:54 AM

User image

Subject: New Wheels for a Newbie
Hello,

I just completed my third Triathlon (one sprint, two Olympic) using my old Trek Elance. The bike is great, but it's not the fastest of my bikes. I have a lighter Raleigh with better shifting capabilities, but I got ran off the road a few months back. When I got up both wheels had come off the bike, I was hurt, angry, and dazed. The result was that I just threw the bike in the bushes and walked off. After I came to my senses a few miles later I went back to get my bike and could only find the front wheel. So, I am in need of at least a new back wheel. The wheels that were on it were Weinnman TR 18. That may not be a great wheel description, as I am still not very bike Savvy.

Seeing that I am still new to this, I am not looking to spend a lot of money until it will actually make a difference in my performance. If anyone has a recommendation on an affordable wheel, I would be more than happy to receive it.

Thank you for your time.

2017-07-25 10:07 AM
in reply to: Joednavy

Subject: RE: New Wheels for a Newbie
Originally posted by Joednavy

Hello,

I just completed my third Triathlon (one sprint, two Olympic) using my old Trek Elance. The bike is great, but it's not the fastest of my bikes. I have a lighter Raleigh with better shifting capabilities, but I got ran off the road a few months back. When I got up both wheels had come off the bike, I was hurt, angry, and dazed. The result was that I just threw the bike in the bushes and walked off. After I came to my senses a few miles later I went back to get my bike and could only find the front wheel. So, I am in need of at least a new back wheel. The wheels that were on it were Weinnman TR 18. That may not be a great wheel description, as I am still not very bike Savvy.