General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Beginner Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2017-10-13 6:14 AM

Subject: Beginner
Hello,

I am new to triathlon. I have run 4-5 half marathons and have participated in a few bike rides of around 180KM.
I don't know how swim. I have started to attend some beginner swim class for adults (attended 4 classes until now). My goal is to participate in some triathlon sometime in summer 2018.

I just want to compete and complete.

I am confident about biking and running. But not swimming.

Is it a realistic goal or am I being too ambitious?

2017-10-13 6:29 AM
in reply to: #5229617

User image

Subject: RE: Beginner
It is absolutely realistic. Just take it one session at a time. A sprint distance swim is 750m, a super sprint is ~400m.

Learning to swim is 1 thing, swimming in open water, with a lot of other athletes is another. I would say open water swimming brings the most anxiety.

Perhaps make your first Tri an indoor one with a pool swim, just to ease into it.

Good luck.
2017-10-13 6:49 AM
in reply to: mgbharath

User image

Pro
, New Hampshire
Very realistic. I'm a non-swimmer that once in a while races triathlons. I'm honestly the worst one out there (yes, breast stroke), but that's ok. I know I can finish the distance and then my race truly starts. Like you, I'm a cyclist and running first and foremost (that's my I do primarily duathlons!).

Take you time, start with shorter distances (sprints) and build you confidence.
2017-10-13 8:58 AM
in reply to: audiojan

User image

Expert
Middle River, Maryland
Silver member

I had the exact entry path as you into triathlons.  A few HMs, plus I biked for fitness (thought not 180km LOL).  I could swim (like to save my life) but had never trained in a pool.  My first workout I couldn't finish 100 yards without stopping.  I used the 0-750 plan on here somewhere and that got me through my first sprint (like Audiojan, DFL on the swim and had to backstroke quite a bit).