General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Preparing for the first Olympic triathlon Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2018-01-09 7:24 AM

Subject: Preparing for the first Olympic triathlon
Hi everyone, i am totally new in the world of triathon so i would like to ask for your help regarding something.
I wuld like to prepare for Olympic triathlon this summer with no serious previous experiance in any of triatlon legs (although i did some running and swiming in the past).
I was thinking to use one of your beginers programs 16 wwk before race, however i would like to start now with doing some swiming, running and bike together with my gym sessions.
Here is how i imagene it so please give your opinion would this be ok for month or two and then i would switch to one of the programs here and keep 2 whole body gym sessions per week.

mon: swim am, run 10k faster pm

tue: intens gym am

wed: swim am, bike 30-40km pm

thr: volume gym am

fri: swim am

sat: brick (bike/run) am

sun: off

Thank you

2018-01-09 11:43 AM
in reply to: never

User image

Official BT Coach
Indianapolis, Indiana
Gold member
Subject: RE: Preparing for the first Olympic triathlon

Originally posted by never

Hi everyone, i am totally new in the world of triathon so i would like to ask for your help regarding something.

I wuld like to prepare for Olympic triathlon this summer with no serious previous experiance in any of triatlon legs (although i did some running and swiming in the past).

I was thinking to use one of your beginers programs 16 wwk before race, however i would like to start now with doing some swiming, running and bike together with my gym sessions.

Here is how i imagene it so please give your opinion would this be ok for month or two and then i would switch to one of the programs here and keep 2 whole body gym sessions per week.

sun: off Thank you

My first thought is, "What's your current fitness level?"